Dec. 20, 2018 Held


Togolese Republic

Election for Assemblée nationale (Togolese National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,869,717
Valid Votes:1,751,110
Invalid Votes:118,607

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Union for the Republic (Union pour la République) 59

Independents (Independents) 18

Union of Forces of Change 6

Patriotic Movement for Democracy and Development (Mouvement Patriotique pour la Démocratie et le Développement) 3

New Commitment Togo (NET) (New Commitment Togo (NET)) 3

Movement of Centrist Republicans (Mouvement des Républicains Centristes) 1

Democratic Pan-African Party (Parti Démocratique Panafricain) 1

Election Results Modified: May 09, 2019

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 91 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Faure GNASSINGBÉ
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Kwesi AHOOMEY-ZUNI
  • Assembly: Togo has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 91 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 91 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to 5-year terms.*

* There are 30 multi-member constituencies. The Grand Lome constituency elects 10 members, 3 constituencies elect 4 members each, 17 constituencies elect 3 members each, and 9 constituencies elect 2 members.

Main parties in the electoral race:*

* There are 12 parties in this election. The C14, a coalition of 14 parties led by Brigitte Kafui ADJAMAGBO-JOHNSON, is boycotting the election. The coalition includes the Alliance of Democrats for Integral Development / Alliance des Démocrates pour le Développement Intégral (ADDI), the National Alliance for Change / Alliance Nationale pour le Changement (ANC), the Action Committee for Renewal / Comité d’Action pour le Renouveau (CAR), the Democratic Convention of African Peoples / Convention Démocratique des Peuples Africains (CDPA), and the Citizen Movement for Democracy and Development / Mouvement Citoyen pour la Démocratie et le Développement (MCD).

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 7,990,926 (2018 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 3,155,837 (2018)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 4,006,749 (2018 est.)
  • Is Togo a signatory to CEDAW: No 
  • Has Togo ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (26 September 1983)
  • Gender Quota: Yes
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 16
  • Human Development Index Position: 165 (2018)
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data:

  • Is Togo a signatory to CRPD: Yes (23 September 2008)
  • Has Togo ratified CRPD: Yes (1 March 2011)
  • Population with a disability: 1,132,848 (2018 est.)
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Togo

With Participation Rates