Sept. 11, 2015 Held


Republic of Singapore

Election for Singaporean Parliament


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,304,331
Valid Votes:2,257,016
Invalid Votes:47,315

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

People's Action Party (人民行动党) 83 - 1,576,784


Workers' Party of Singapore (新加坡工人党) 6 - - 281,697

Election Results Modified: Dec 10, 2015

General Information

Singapore: Parliamentary Election, September 11, 2015

At Stake in this election:

  • 89 seats in the Parliament.

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Tony TAN Keng Yam (since 1 September 2011)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister LEE Hsien Loong (since 12 August 2004)
  • Assembly: Singapore has a unicameral Parliament with 99 seats.[1]

Description of electoral system:

  • In the Parliament, 76 members are directly elected by bloc vote in 16 multi-member constituencies (ranging from 4 to 6 members), and a further 13 are directly elected by simple majority vote in single-member constituencies.[2] Additionally, 9 members are nominated by the president, and up to 9 members may appointed from a “national compensatory” list to ensure political diversity.[3] Voting is mandatory in all Singapore’s elections.

Election Overview:

  • Singapore’s 17th general election was called on 25 August 2015 following the dissolution of Parliament by President Tony TAN Keng Yam. Candidate nomination will occur on 1 September 2015, to be followed by a nine-day election campaign. In the 2011 general election, the People’s Action Party (PAP) maintained their majority in the Parliament, winning 60.16% of the vote and 81 seats in the Parliament. The Parliament will increase in size by two seats following the conclusion of the electoral boundaries review on 24 July 2015.

Main parties in the election:[4],[5]

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 5,674,472 (July 2015 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 2,460,977 (1 August 2015)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 2,894,797 (July 2015 est.)
  • Is Singapore a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Singapore ratified CEDAW: No
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 25 (25.3%)
  • Human Development Index Position: 9
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is Singapore a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 November 2012)
  • Has Singapore ratified CRPD: Yes (18 July 2013)
  • Population with a disability: 835,095

[1] The size of the Parliament will increase to 101 seats following the 2015 general election.

[3] The term for elected members is five years. For appointed members the term is 2.5 years.

[4] Candidate lists will be released on 1 September 2015. They will be available at http://www.eld.gov.sg/.

[5] Overall, 10 parties are expected to contest the election. Listed below are parties that are expected to field at least 10 candidates in the election.

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Singapore

With Participation Rates