June 26, 2017 Held



Election for Mongolian Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,357,788
Valid Votes:1,339,125
Invalid Votes:18,663

Vote Share by Candidate:

Khaltmaagiin Battulga517,478


Miyeegombyn Enkhbold411,748


Sainkhüügiin Ganbaatar409,899

Election Results Modified: Sep 07, 2017

General Information

Mongolia: President, 26 June 2017

At stake in this election:

  • The office of the President of Mongolia

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Tsakhiagiin ELBEGDORJ (since 18 June 2009)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Jargaltulga ERDENEBAT (since 8 July 2016)
  • Assembly: Unicameral State Great Hural (Ulsyn Ikh Khural) with 76 seats

Description of electoral system:

  • Presidential candidates are nominated by political parties represented in the State Great Hural (Ulsyn Ikh Khural). The President is then directly elected by a simple majority popular vote, in two rounds if needed, for a 4-year term.

Last Election:

  • The last presidential election in Mongolia occurred in 2013. President ELBEGDORJ was reelected for another term.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Miyeegombyn Enkhbold
    • Mongolian People’s Party / Mongol Ardīn Nam
  • Sainkhüügiin Ganbaatar
    • Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party / Mongol Ardyn Khuvsgalt Nam
  • Khaltmaagiin Battulga
    • Democratic Party / Ardchilsan Nam

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 3,068,243 (July 2017 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 1,990,787

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 1,565,430​
  • Is Mongolia a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)
  • Has Mongolia ratified CEDAW: Yes (20 July 1981)
  • Gender Quota: Yes
  • Female candidates in this election: No
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 13
  • Human Development Index Position: 92
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very Low

Disability Data:

  • Is Mongolia a signatory to CRPD: No 
  • Has Mongolia ratified CRPD: Yes, accession (13 May 2009)
  • Population with a disability: 448,936
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Mongolia

With Participation Rates