Aug. 8, 2017 Held


Republic of Kenya

Election for Kenyan National Assembly


Cast Votes:15,593,050
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

The Jubilee Coalition 171 None

Orange Democratic Movement 76 None

Wiper Democratic Movement - Kenya 23 None

Amani Coalition 14 None

Independents 14 None

Forum for the Restoration of Democracy-People 12 None

Kenya African National Union 10 None

Economic Freedom Party 5 None

Kenya National Congress 2 None

Maendeleo Chap Chap Party 4 None

Party for Development and Reform 4 None

Chama cha Mashinani 2 None

Kenya Peoples' Party 2 None

People's Democratic Party 2 None

Chama Cha Uzalendo 1 None

Kilonzo Muungano Party 1 None

Party of National Unity 1 None

Democratic Party 1 None

Frontier Alliance Party 1 None

National Agenda Party of Kenya 1 None

More Info:

Kenya: National Assembly, 8 August 2017

At stake in this election:

  • 349 seats in the National Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Uhuru KENYATTA (since 9 April 2013)
  • Head of Government: President Uhuru KENYATTA (since 9 April 2013)
  • Assembly: Bicameral parliament consisting of the Senate with 67 seats and the National Assembly with 349 seats

Description of electoral system:

  • 290 members of the National Assembly are directly elected in single-seat constituencies by a simple majority vote. 47 women are directly elected in single-seat constituencies by a simple majority vote. 12 members are nominated by the National Assembly to represent youth and the disabled. All members serve 5-year terms.

Last Election:

  • The last election for the National Assembly in Kenya occurred in 2013. The National Alliance won 89 seats, which was the largest share of any party. Since that time, the National Alliance Party joined with other, smaller, parties to form the Jubilee Party.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Jubilee Party
    • Leader: Uhuru KENYATTA
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Orange Democratic Movement
    • Leader: Raila ODINGA
    • Seats won in last election: 96
  • Wiper Democratic Movement
    • Leader: Kalonzo MUSYOKA
    • Seats won in last election: 26

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 47,615,739
  • Registered Voters: 19,611,423

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 23,807,869
  • Is Kenya a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Kenya ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (9 March 1984)
  • Gender Quota: Yes
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 18
  • Human Development Index Position: 146
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium

Disability Data:

  • Is Kenya a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)
  • Has Kenya ratified CRPD: Yes (19 May 2008)
  • Population with a disability: 6,767,279