Record Modified: Aug 16 2023

Aug. 8, 2017 Held


Republic of Kenya

Election for Kenyan Senate


Cast Votes:15,593,050
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

The Jubilee Coalition 34 None

Orange Democratic Movement 20 None

Wiper Democratic Movement - Kenya (Wiper Democratic Movement - Kenya) 3 None

Amani Coalition 3 None

Kenya African National Union 3 None

Forum for the Restoration of Democracy-People 1 None

Independents (Independents) 1 None

Chama Cha Uzalendo (Chama Cha Uzalendo) 1 None

Party for Development and Reform (Party for Development and Reform) 1 None

More Info:

Kenya: Senate, 8 August 2017

At stake in this election:

  • 67 seats in the Senate

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Uhuru KENYATTA (since 9 April 2013)
  • Head of Government: President Uhuru KENYATTA (since 9 April 2013)
  • Assembly: Bicameral parliament consisting of the Senate with 67 seats and the National Assembly with 349 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • 47 members of the Senate are directly elected in single-seat constituencies by a simple majority vote. 20 members are directly elected by a proportional representation vote. All members serve 5-year terms.

Last Election:

  • The last election for the Kenyan Senate occurred in 2013. The National Alliance Party and Orange Democratic Movement each won 17 seats. Since that time, the National Alliance Party joined with other, smaller, parties to form the Jubilee Party.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Jubilee Party
    • Leader: Uhuru KENYATTA
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Orange Democratic Movement
    • Leader: Raila ODINGA
    • Seats won in last election: 17
  • Wiper Democratic Movement
    • Leader: Kalonzo MUSYOKA
    • Seats won in last election: 5

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 47,615,739
  • Registered Voters: 19,611,423

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 23,807,869
  • Is Kenya a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Kenya ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (9 March 1984)
  • Gender Quota: Yes
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 18
  • Human Development Index Position: 146
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium

Disability Data:

  • Is Kenya a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)
  • Has Kenya ratified CRPD: Yes (19 May 2008)
  • Population with a disability: 6,767,279