Aug. 9, 2015 Held


Republic of Haiti

Election for Sénat (Haitian Senate)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,046,516
Valid Votes:1,046,516
Invalid Votes:None

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Haiti in Action (L'Ayiti An Aksyon) 1

Ligue Dessalinienne (LIDE) (Ligue Dessalinienne (LIDE)) 1

Election Results Modified: Mar 11, 2016

General Information

*Results will be posted after second round elections are held on October 25, 2015. 

At stake in this election:      

  • 20 seats in the Senate*

*Though normally only 10 seats would be elected at a time, the Senate has been operating with only 20 of 30 seats filled due to cancelled elections.[1] 

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Michel MARTELLY
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Laurent LAMOTHE
  • Assembly: Haiti has a bicameral National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale) consisting of the Senate with 30 seats and the Chamber of Deputies with 99 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Senate 30 members are elected by popular vote to serve 6-year terms*. In the Chamber of Deputies 99 members are elected by popular vote to serve 4-year terms.

* Normally, one-third of the Senate is elected every two years.

Main parties in the electoral race*:

  • Party: Farmers' Response Party / Repons Peyizan
  • Leader: Michel MARTELLY
  • Party: Popular Patriotic Dessalinien Movement / Mouvement Patriotique Populaire Dessalinien (MOPOD)
  • Leaders: Samuel MADISTIN, Mirlande H. MANIGAT,[2] Turneb DELPE[3]
  • Party: G18 Policy Platform / Plateforme Politique G18
  • Leader: Joseph WUILSON[4]
  • Party: Defile Pati Politik Fanm Ak Fanmi (Political Parties Women and Families)
  • Leader: Marie Rebecca GUILLAUME[5]
  • Party: Konbit Travaye Peyizan Pou Libere Ayiti (Kontra Pep La)
  • Leader: Jean William JEANTY[6]
  • Party: Consortium National des Partis Politiques Haitiens (CNPPH)
  • Leader: Jeantel JOSEPH[7]
  • Leader: Youri LATORTUE[8]
  • Party: Respe (RESPECT)
  • Leader: Charles Henry BAKER[9]
  • Party: Ligue Alternative pour le Progres et l’Emancipation Haitienne
  • Leader: Jean Hector ANACACIS[10]
  • Party: Pont (Pou Nou Tout)
  • Leader: Dr. Evalliere Beauplan[11]
  • Party: Reseau Bouclier National
  • Leader: Jodson Leroy ROSEMOND[12]
  • Party: Konvansyon Inite Demokratik (KID)
  • Leader: Enold JOSEPH[13]
  • Party: Platfom Pitit Dessalines
  • Leader: Amogene CHARLES[14]
  • Party: Oganizasyon Pep Kap Lite
  • Leader: Pierree Paul Dit Harry MARSAN[15]
  • Party: Renmen Ayiti
  • Leader: Jean Henry CEANT[16]
  • Party: Parti Fusion Des Sociaux-Democrates Haitiens
  • Leader: Edmonde Supplice BEAUZILE[17]
  • Party: Fanmi Lavalas
  • Leader: Maryse NARCISSE[18]
  • Party: Verite
  • Leader: Genard JOSEPH[19]
  • Party: Parti Haitien Tet Kale
  • Leader: Marie Yanick MEZILE[20]
  • Party: Ansanm Patriyot pou Lavni Ayiti (APLA)
  • Party: Inite Patriyotik

*Approximately 125 political parties have registered for the election.[21] 

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 9,996,731 (2014 est.)[22]
  • Registered Voters: 4,712,693 (2011 est.)[23]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 5,035,655 (2014 est.)[24]
  • Is Haiti a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)
  • Has Haiti ratified CEDAW: Yes (20 July 1981)[25]
  • Gender Quota:  Yes[26]
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 4 (4%) of 99 seats in the Chamber of Deputies[27]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 168[28]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium[29]

Disability Data:

  • Is Haiti a signatory to CRPD: No
  • Has Haiti ratified CRPD: Yes (23 July 2009)[30]


Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Haiti

With Participation Rates