March 20, 2017 Held


Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

Election for Timorese Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:528,813
Valid Votes:516,881
Invalid Votes:11,932

Vote Share by Candidate:

Francisco GUTERRES295,048


Antonio da CONCEICAO167,794




Jose Antonio de Jesus das NEVES11,663


Manuel TILMAN11,125

Election Results Modified: Mar 29, 2017

General Information

Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste: President, 20 March 2017

At stake in this election:

  • The office of the President of Timor-Leste.

Note on the results: Only candidates who received more than 2% of the total vote are shown.

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State:  President Taur Matan RUAK (since 20 May 2012)
  • Head of Government:  Prime Minister Rui Maria de ARAUJO (16 February 2015)
  • Assembly:  Timor-Leste has a unicameral National Assembly of 65 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term with a 50% + 1 threshold system.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the majority seats in National Parliament.
  • In the National Parliament 65 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.
    • There is one, nationwide constituency and a 3 percent threshold for entering parliament. Each list must contain the names of 65 candidates and no fewer than 25 alternate candidates. In addition, every fourth candidate on a list must be female (Law 6/2006 Article 12).

Last Election:

  • President Taur Matan RUAK of the National Congress for Timorese Reconstruction defeated Francisco GUTERRES of the Revolutionary Front of an Independent Timor-Leste.

Main candidates in the election:

  • José Antonio de Jesus das SILVA
    •  Independent
  • Francisco 'Lu Olo' GUTERRES
    • Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor/ Frente Revolusinaria de Timor-Leste Undependente (FRETILIN)
  • Antono Maher LOPES
    • Socialist Party of Timor/ Partido Socialista de Timor
  • Maria Angela Freitas da SILVA
    • Labor Party / Partido Trabalhista Timorense (PTT)
  • Antonio Luis GUTERRES
    • Democratic Party / Partido Democrático
  • José Luis GUTERRES
    • Front for the National Reconstruction of Timor-Leste/ Frente da Reconstrução nacional de Timor-Leste-Mudança (FM)
  • Amorim VIEIRA
    • Independent
  • Luis Alves TILMAN
    • Independent

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population:  1,261,072 (July 2016)
  • Registered Voters:  744,613 (2017)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population:  628,865 (July 2016)
  • Is Timor-Leste a signatory to CEDAW:  No
  • Has Timor-Leste ratified CEDAW:  Yes (since 16 April 2003)
  • Gender Quota:  No[1]
  • Female candidates in this election:  Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians:  25
  • Human Development Index Position:  128
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization:  High (2014)

Disability Data:

  • Is Timor-Leste a signatory to CRPD:  No
  • Has Timor-Leste ratified CRPD:  No
  • Population with a disability:  184,667[2]

[1] There is a gender quota mandating that every fourth candidate must be female, however there is no quota for the composition of the elected National Assembly.

[2] Calculated using the WHO estimate of 15%.

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Timor-Leste

With Participation Rates