April 8, 2016 Held


Republic of Djibouti

Election for Djiboutian Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:131,778
Valid Votes:127,933
Invalid Votes:3,845

Vote Share by Candidate:

Ismail Omar GUELLEH111,389


Omar Elmi KHAIREH9,385


Mohamed Daoud CHEHEM2,340


Mohamed Moussa ALI1,946


Moussa Ahmed Idriss1,770


Djama Abdourahman DJAMA1,103

Election Results Modified: Apr 25, 2016

General Information

Djibouti: President, 8 April 2016

At stake in this election:

  • The office of the President of Djibouti

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Ismail Omar GUELLEH (since 8 May 1999)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Abdoulkader Kamil MOHAMED (since 1 April 2013)
  • Assembly: Djibouti has a unicameral Assemblee Nationale (National Assembly) consisting of 65 seats with members serving 5-year terms.

Description of electoral system:

  • The president is directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term.

Last Election:

  • Djibouti last held a presidential election on 8 April 2011. Incumbent Ismail Omar GUELLEH won the presidency with 80.63% of the vote, while Mohammed WARSAMA took 19.37%

Main candidates in the election:

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 824,324 (July 2015 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 176,878 (2013)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 448,363 (July 2015 est.)

·         Is Djibouti a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Djibouti ratified CEDAW: Yes, Accession (2 December 1998)

·         Gender Quota: Yes[2]

·         Female candidates in this election:

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 7 (10.77%)

·         Human Development Index Position: 168 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Djibouti a signatory to CRPD: N/A

·         Has Djibouti ratified CRPD: Yes (18 June 2012)

·         Population with a disability: 124,249


[1] The National Salvation Union is a coalition of 8 opposition parties: the Republican Alliance for Democracy (ARD), the Union for Democracy and Justice (UDJ), the Movement for Democratic Renewal (MRD), the Democratic National Party (PND), the Movement for Development and Liberty (MoDel), the Rally for Development and Democracy (RADD), and Center of Unified Democracy (CDU).

[2] The gender quota requires that each party must ensure that candidates of either sex form at least 10% of elected members of the National Assembly. 

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Djibouti

With Participation Rates