Dec. 30, 2018 Held

Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Congo DRC National Assembly)

General Information


Seats won in this election:*

  • Joint Front for Congo (FCC):    341
  • Lamuka:    112
  • Heading for Change:    47

The Joint Front for Congo is a pro-Joseph KABILA bloc; Lamuka is a coalition led by Martin FAYULU; and Heading for Change is led by Felix TSHISEKEDI. A more detailed seat breakdown will be added when it is available.

At stake in this election:

  • 500 seats in the National Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Joseph KABILA
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Bruno TSHIBALA
  • Assembly: Democratic Republic of the Congo has a bicameral Parliament (Parlement) consisting of the Senate (Sénat) with 108 seats and the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 500 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a semi-presidential republic. The President is directly elected through a First-Past-the-Post (FPTP) system for  a 5-year term that is renewable only once.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President, usually from the majority party or coalition in the National Assembly.
  • In the Senate (Sénat) 108 members are indirectly elected by provincial assemblies through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), there are 62 single member constituencies and 438 multi-member constituencies. In single-member constituencies, the winner is decided by simple majority via FPTP.  In multi-member constituencies (two or more seats), a single vote is cast for open proportional representation lists.  All members of the National Assembly serve 5-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Coalition: People’s Party for Reconstruction and Democracy / Parti de Peuple pour la Reconstruction et la Democratie (PPRD)
    • Leader: Joseph KABILA
  • Party: Engagement for Citizenship and Development Party / Partie d’Engagement pour la Citoyenneté et le Développement
    • Leader: Martin FAYULU
  • Party: Union for Democracy and Social Porgress / Union pour la Démocratie et la progrés social (UDPS)
    • Leader: Felix TSHISEKEDI
  • Party: Union for the Congolese Nation / Union pour la Nation Conglaise (UNC)
    • Leader: Vital KAMERHE
  • Party: Together for Change / Ensemble pour le Changement
    • Leader: Moise KATUMBI
  • Party: Movement for the Liberation of the Congo / Mouvement de Libération du Congo (MLC)
    • Leader: Jean-Pierre BEMBA
  • Party: Our Congo / Congo Na Biso (CNB)
    • Leader: Freddy MATUNGULU

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 84,004,989 (2018 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 40,371,439 ( As of April 4, 2018)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 42,084,693 (2018 est.)
  • Is the Democratic Republic of the Congo a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)
  • Has the Democratic Republic of the Congo ratified CEDAW: Yes (17 October 1986)
  • Gender Quota: Yes
  • Female candidates in this election:
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 44 (National Assembly); 5 (Senate)
  • Human Development Index Position: 176 (2018)
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very High (2014)

Disability Data:

  • Is the Democratic Republic of the Congo a signatory to CRPD: No
  • Has ratified CRPD: Yes (30 September 2015 accession)
  • Population with a disability: 11,906,270 (2018 est.)
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

With Participation Rates