Record Modified: Aug 16 2023

Nov. 7, 2013 Held

Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)

Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

Election for Falkland Legislative Assembly


Cast Votes:1,709
Valid Votes:1,705
Invalid Votes:4


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Independents 8 1,705


More Info:

For a complete list of candidates winning in the Falkland Islands election, visit http://www.falklandnews.com/public/story.cfm?get=6674&source=3

At stake in this election:

  • 8 seats in the Legislative Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II[i]
  • Head of Government: Chief Executive Keith PADGETT
  • Assembly: Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas) has a unicameral Legislative Assembly with 10 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary.
  • The Chief Executive is appointed by the governor.
  • In the Legislative Assembly, 8 members are elected by block vote to serve 4-year terms and 2 members are appointed ex-officio to serve 4-year terms. There are two electoral districts in the Falkland Islands, with 5 members elected in the Stanley Constituency and 3 for the Camp Constituency. The ex-officio members are the Chief Executive and the Financial Secretary.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Registered Candidates:[iii]

  • Stanley Constituency: Mike Summers (I), Candy Blackley, John Birmingham, Jan Cheek (I), Barry Elsby (I), Lyn Buckland, Gavin Short (I), Faith Felton, Norman Clark and Michael Poole
  • Camp Constituency: Roger Edwards (I), Melanie Gilding, Phyl Rendell, Sharon Halford (I) and Ian Hansen (I)

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 2,563 (October 2012)
  • Registered Voters: 1,672 (March 2013)



[i] The Queen is represented by the Governor of the Falkland Islands. The current Governor is Nigel HAYWOOD.

[ii] All members are elected as independents, as there are no political parties in the Falkland Islands.

[iii] Incumbent members are denoted with an (I). Dick Sawle is not running for re-election.