Nov. 4, 2014 Held


Territory of Guam

Election for Liheslaturan Guåhan (Guamanian Legislature)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:37,373
Valid Votes:37,373
Invalid Votes:0

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Democratic Party (Democratic Party) 9 - -

Republican Party (Republican Party) 6 - -

Election Results Modified: Nov 25, 2014

General Information

At stake in this election:    

  • 15 seats in the Legislature of Guam (Liheslaturan Guåhan)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Barack OBAMA (since 20 January 2009)
  • Head of Government: Governor Eddie Baza CALVO (since 3 January 2011)
  • Assembly: Guam has a unicameral Legislature of Guam (Liheslaturan Guåhan) with 15 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by an electoral college to serve a 4-year term.*
  • The Governor is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Legislature of Guam (Liheslaturan Guåhan) 15 members are elected by popular vote to serve 2-year terms.

* Residents of unincorporated territories do not vote in elections for US president or vice president, however, they may vote in Democratic and Republican presidential primary elections. Residents also elect one nonvoting delegate (“Washington Delegate”) to serve a 2-year term in the US House of Representatives.

Election Note:

  • On Tuesday 4 November 2014, there will be an election for the Legislature of Guam (Liheslaturan Guåhan).[i]

Main parties in the electoral race:

*Both parties in Guam are affiliated with their respective US national parties.

Last election:

  • The last election to the Legislature of Guam was on 6 November 2012.[ii] The Democrats won 9 seats, while the Republicans won 6 seats.[iii] Results can be found here.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 161,001 (July 2014 est)[iv]
  • Registered Voters: 49,699 (Oct 2014)[v]

[i] http://gec.guam.gov/

[ii] http://gec.guam.gov/2012/12/03/official-2012-general-election-results/

[iii] http://gec.guam.gov/2012/12/03/official-2012-general-election-results/

[iv] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/gq.html

[v] http://gec.guam.gov/2014/09/01/registered-voters-of-guam/

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024