Dec. 19, 2012 Held

South Korea

Republic of Korea

Election for South Korean Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:30,721,459
Valid Votes:30,594,621
Invalid Votes:126,838

Vote Share by Candidate:

PARK Geun-hye15,773,128


MOON Jae-in14,692,632

Election Results Modified: Nov 26, 2012

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of South Korea

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President LEE Myung-bak
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister KIM Hwang-sik
  • Assembly: South Korea has a unicameral National Assembly (Kukhoe) with 300 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Kukhoe), 246 members are elected in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 54 members are elected by proportional representation to serve 4-year terms.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 50,004,441 (2012)
  • Registered Voters: 40,507,842 (December 2012)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 25,145,837 (2012)

·         Is South Korea a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (25 May 1983)

·         Has South Korea ratified CEDAW: Yes (27 December 1984)

·         Gender Quota: Yes[5]

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 47 (following the 2012 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 17 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is South Korea a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has South Korea ratified CRPD: Yes (11 December 2008)

·         Population with a disability: 7,500,666 (est.)

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in South Korea

With Participation Rates