March 13, 2011 Held


Republic of Benin

Election for Beninese Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,111,833
Valid Votes:2,972,445
Invalid Votes:139,388

Vote Share by Candidate:

Thomas Yayi BONI1,579,550


Adrieu HOUNGBEDJI1,059,396


Abdoulaye BIO-TCHAN182,484


Salifou ISSA24,774

Election Results Modified: Apr 09, 2014

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Benin

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Thomas Boni YAYI
  • Head of Government: President Thomas Boni YAYI
  • Assembly: Benin has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 83 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) 83 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Seats are split into 24 multi-member constituencies creating a low district magnitude.

Main Candidates in the First Round of the Presidential race:

  • Thomas Yayi BONI*
  • Adrien HOUNGBEDJI**
    • Party: Democratic Renewal Party / Parti du renouveau démocratique (PRD)
  • Abdoulaye BIO-TCHAN
    • Party: N/A
  • Salifou ISSA
    • Party: Union for Relief / Forces Cauris pour un Bénin Emergent (UPR)

* Union pour la majorité présidentielle plurielle is made up of 80 minor parties and 150 civil society groups.
** HOUNGBEDJI leads the opposition coalition, Union fait la Nation (UFN).

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 9,056,010 (July 2010 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 3,668,558 (April 2011 )
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Benin

With Participation Rates