Oct. 3, 2010 Held

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Election for Chairman of the Presidency (Bosnia and Herzegovina Presidency)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,768,573
Valid Votes:1,627,520
Invalid Votes:141,053

Vote Share by Candidate:

Zeljko KOMSIC(Croat)337,065


Nebojsa RADMANOVIC (Serb)295,629


Mladen IVANIC (Serb)285,951


Bakir IZETBEGOVIC (Bosniak)162,831


Fahrudin RADONCIC (Bosniak)142,387


Borjana KRISTO (Croat)109,758


Martin RAGUZ (Croat)60,266


Jerko Ivankovic LIJANOVIC45,397


Rajko POPOVIC (Serb)22,790


Ibrahim DEDOVIC (Bosniak)13,369

Election Results Modified: Sep 14, 2010

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of Chairman of the Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Chairman of the Presidency Sulejman TIHIC *
  • Head of Government: Chairman of the Council of Ministers Adnan TERZIC
  • Assembly: Bosnia and Herzegovina has a bicameral Parliamentary Assembly (Skupstina) consisting of the House of Peoples (Dom Naroda) with 15 seats and the National House of Representatives (Predstavnicki Dom) with 42 seats.

* The Presidency consists of three members who rotate every eight months. Sulejman TIHIC (Bosniak) has been Chairman of the Presidency since 28 February 2006. The other members of the Presidency are Borislav PARAVAC (Serb) and Ivo Miro JOVIC (Croat). The three members of the Presidency (one Bosniak, one Croat, one Serb) are elected by popular vote to serve a 4-year term. The Chairmanship of the Presidency rotates every eight months among the three members.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Chairman of the Presidency is elected by popular vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the House of Peoples (Dom Naroda) 15 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 4-year terms*. In the National House of Representatives (Predstavnicki Dom) 42 members are elected by proportional representation to serve 4-year terms.**

* The seats are made up of 5 Bosniaks, 5 Croats, and 5 Serbs. Members are elected by the Bosniak/Croat Federation's House of Representatives and the Republika Srpska's National Assembly.

** 28 seats are allocated from the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and 14 seats from the Republika Srpska.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 3,835,258 (2010)
  • Registered Voters: 3,129,599 (May 2010 )

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 1,925,585 (2010)

·         Is Bosnia and Herzegovina a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Bosnia and Herzegovina ratified CEDAW: Yes, succession (1 September 1993)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 7 (House of Representatives) (following 2010 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 85 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Bosnia and Herzegovina a signatory to CRPD: Yes (29 July 2009)

·         Has Bosnia and Herzegovina ratified CRPD: Yes (12 March 2010)

·         Population with a disability: 575,288 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Bosnia and Herzegovina

With Participation Rates