May 24, 2009 Held



Election for Mongolian Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,098,875
Valid Votes:1,085,353
Invalid Votes:13,522

Vote Share by Candidate:

Tsakhiagiin ELBEGDORJ562,718


Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR520,948

Election Results Modified: May 18, 2009

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Mongolia

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Sanjaagiin BAYAR
  • Assembly: Mongolia has a unicameral State Great Hural (Ulsyn Ikh Khural) with 76 seats.

* To be eligible to seek the presidency, one must belong to a political party with seats in parliament.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the State Great Hural (Ulsyn Ikh Khural) 76 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Tsakhiagiin ELBEGDORJ
    • Party: Motherland Democratic Coalition (MDC)
  • Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR
    • Party: Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party (MPRM)

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 2,669,572 (2009)
  • Registered Voters: 1,493,217 (May 2009)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 1,344,386 (2009)

·         Is Mongolia a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Mongolia ratified CEDAW: Yes (20 July 1981)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 3 (following the 2008 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 90 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Mongolia a signatory to CRPD: No

·         Has Mongolia ratified CRPD: Yes, accession (13 May 2009)

·         Population with a disability: 400,435 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Mongolia

With Participation Rates