Record Modified: Jan 18 2023

Sept. 8, 2007 Held

Sierra Leone

Republic of Sierra Leone

Election for Sierra Leonean Presidency


Cast Votes:1,783,851
Valid Votes:1,740,058
Invalid Votes:43,793


Ernest Bai KOROMA950,407


Solomon E. BEREWA789,651


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Sierra Leone

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Ahmad Tejan KABBAH *
  • Head of Government: President Ahmad Tejan KABBAH
  • Assembly: Sierra Leone has a unicameral Parliament with 124 seats.

* The president is both the chief of state and head of government.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Parliament, 112 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 12 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 5-year terms.***

*** 12 seats are filled by paramount chiefs elected in separate elections.

Main Candidates in the Second Round of the Presidential race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 5,391,108 (2007)
  • Registered Voters: 2,600,000 (2007)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 2,731,545 (2007)

·         Is Sierra Leone a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (21 September 1988)

·         Has Sierra Leone ratified CEDAW: Yes (11 November 1988)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 16 (following the 2007 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 181 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very High (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Sierra Leone a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Sierra Leone ratified CRPD: Yes (4 October 2010)

·         Population with a disability: 808,666 (est.)