July 30, 2006 Held

Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Election for Congo DRC Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:17,931,631
Valid Votes:16,937,093
Invalid Votes:994,538

Vote Share by Candidate:

Joseph KABILA KABANGE7,518,911


Jean – Pierre BEMBA GOMBO3,392,492


Antoine GIZENGA2,211,280


All Others1,629,903


Francois Joseph MOBUTU NZANGA NGBANGAWE808,398




Azarias RUBERWA MANYWA285,682


Pierre PAY-PAY wa SYAKASSIGHE267,756

Election Results Modified: Jul 26, 2006

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Democratic Republic of the Congo

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Joseph KABILA *
  • Head of Government: President Joseph KABILA **
  • Assembly: Democratic Republic of the Congo has a bicameral legislature consisting of the National Assembly with 500 seats and the Senate with 120 seats.

* Joseph KABILA succeeded to the presidency following the assassination of his father, Laurent Desire KABILA, on 16 January 2001.

** The president is both the chief of state and head of government.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by direct popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly, 60 members are elected by majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 440 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms. In the Senate 108 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 5-year terms.**

** The 108 members of the Senate are elected by indirect vote, by provincial deputies from within and outside the provincial Assembly, to serve 5-year terms.

Main Candidates in the First Round of the Presidential race:

    • ​Party: Independent Candidate
  • Jean Pierre BEMBA GOMBA
    • Party: Movement for the Liberation of Congo/Mouvement pour la Liberation du Congo
  • Antoine GIZENGA
    • Party: Unified Lumumbist Party/Parti Lumumbiste Unifie
  • Oscar Kashala LUKUMUENDA
    • Party: Union for the Reconstruction of Congo/Union pour la Reconstruction du Congo
  • Vincent de Paul Lunda BULULU
    • Party: Rally of Socialist and Federalist Forces/Rassemblement Congolais pour la Democratie
  • Francoise Mobutu Nzanga NGANGAWE
    • Party: Union of Mobutuist Democrats/Union des Democrates Mobutistes
  • Pierre Pay Pay Wa SYAKASSIGHE
    • Party: Federalist Christian Democracy - Convention of Federalists for Christian Democracy/Democratie Chretienne Federaliste - Convention des Federalistes pour la Democratie Chretienne
  • Azarias Ruberwa MANYWA
    • Party: Congolese Rally for Democracy/Rassemblement Congolais pour la Democratie

Population and registered voters:

  • Population: 57,926,840 (2006)
  • Registered voters: 25,421,249

Gender Data:

·         Female Population:29,137,200 (2006)

·         Is Democratic Republic of the Congo a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Democratic Republic of the Congo ratified CEDAW: Yes (17 October 1986)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 42 (National Assembly) (following 2006 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 176 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very High (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Democratic Republic of the Congo a signatory to CRPD: No

·         Has Democratic Republic of the Congo ratified CRPD: Yes, accession (30 September 2015)

·         Population with a disability: 8,689,026 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

With Participation Rates