April 24, 2004 Held

South Africa

Republic of South Africa

Election for South African Presidency

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of South Africa

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Thabo MBEKI
  • Head of Government: President Thabo MBEKI
  • Assembly: South Africa has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the National Assembly with 400 seats and the National Council of Provinces with 90 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly 400 members are elected by popular vote. In the National Council of Provinces 90 members are elected .**

** The National Council of Provinces (NCOP) consists of nine provincial delegations nominated by the provincial legislatures, and a delegation from the South African Local Government Association (SALGA). Each of the provinces is allotted 10 seats in the NCOP.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 42,768,678 ( 2003 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 20,674,926 ( 2004 )

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 23,726,298 (2004)

·         Is South Africa a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (29 January 1993)

·         Has South Africa ratified CEDAW: Yes (15 December 1995)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 131 (National Assembly); 18 (National Council) following the 2004 elections

·         Human Development Index Position: 116 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is South Africa a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has South Africa ratified CRPD: Yes (30 November 2007)

·         Population with a disability: 6,966,165 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in South Africa

With Participation Rates