Record Modified: Aug 16 2023

April 27, 2003 Held


Argentine Republic

Election for Argentinian Presidency


Cast Votes:19,755,369
Valid Votes:19,220,087
Invalid Votes:535,282


Carlos Saul MENEM4,677,213


Nestor KIRCHNER4,227,141


Ricardo López MURPHY3,142,848


Elisa CARRIÓ2,720,143


Aldolfo Rodriguez SAA2,714,760


Other Candidates1,737,982


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Argentina

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Eduardo Alberto DUHALDE *
  • Head of Government: President Eduardo Alberto DUHALDE
  • Assembly: Argentina has a bicameral National Congress (Congreso Nacional) consisting of the Senate (Senado de la Nación) with 72 seats and the Chamber of Deputies (Cámara de Diputados) with 257 seats.

* The president is both the chief of state and head of government.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Senate (Senado de la Nación) 72 members are elected by direct vote to serve 6-year terms*. In the Chamber of Deputies (Cámara de Diputados) 257 members are elected by direct vote to serve 4-year terms.**

* One-third of the members are elected every two years.

** One-half of the members are elected every two years.

Main Candidates in the of the Presidential race:

  • Jorge ALTAMIRA
    • Party: Labour Party
  • Juan Carlos ARCAGNI
    • Party: Time for Change
  • Aldredo BRAVO
    • Party: Socialist Party
  • Elisa CARRIO
    • Party: Affirmation for a Republic of Equals
  • Manuel HERRERA
    • Party: Christian Democratic Party
  • Nestor KIRCHNER
    • Party: Front for Victory
  • Ricardo LOPEZ Murphy
    • Party: Federal Movement to Recreate Growth
    • Party: Authentic Socialist Party
  • Carlos Saul MENEM
    • Party: Front for Loyalty
  • Leopoldo MOREAU
    • Party: Radical Civic Union
  • Juan Ricardo MUSSA
    • Party: Union of the Dominated
  • Gustavo BREIDE Obeid
    • Party: Popular Party for Reconstruction
  • Adolfo RODRIGUEZ Saa
    • Party: National and Popular Movement
  • Guillermo SULINGS
    • Party: Humanist Party
  • Ricardo TERAN
    • Party: Movement for Dignity and Independence
  • Enrique VENTURINO
    • Party: Movement for Dignity and Independence 
  • Patricia WALSH
    • Party: United Left
  • Carlos ZAFFORE
    • party: Movement for Integration and Development

Last Presidential election:

  • Last elections were held on October 24, 1999 with former President Fernando DE LA RUA winning 48.5% of the national vote over Eduardo DUHALDE who had 38.09% of the votes. However, DE LA RUA resigned on December 2001 and the National Congress selected DUHALDE as the new president.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 37,812,817 (July 2002 est. )
  • Registered Voters: 25,479,486 ( 2003 )

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 19,139,695 (2001)

·         Is Argentina a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Argentina ratified CEDAW: Yes (15 July 1985)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 79 (Chamber of Deputies); 24 (Senate)

·         Human Development Index Position: 40 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Argentina a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Argentina ratified CRPD: Yes (2 September 2008)

·         Population with a disability: 5,543,277 (est.)