Oct. 5, 2002 Held

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Election for Chairman of the Presidency (Bosnia and Herzegovina Presidency)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,298,827
Valid Votes:1,210,315
Invalid Votes:88,512

Vote Share by Candidate:

Sulejman TIHIC (Bosniak)192,661


Mirko SAROVIC (Serb)180,212


Haris SILAJDŽIC (Bosniak)179,726


Dragan COVIC (Croat)114,606


Nebojsa RADMANOVIC (Serb)101,119


Alija BEHMEN (Bosniak)90,434


Ognjen TADIC (Serb)44,262


Desnica RADIVOJEVIC (Serb)41,667


Ranko BAKIC (Serb)41,228


Other Bosniak Candidates32,625


Mladen IVANKOVIC-LIJANOVIC (Croat)32,411


Mirko BANJAC (Serb)23,238


Grahovac MLADEN (Serb)22,852


Fikret ABDIC-BABO (Bosniak)21,164


Dragutin ILIC (Serb)18,533


Other Serb Candidates18,174


Mijo ANIC (Croat)16,345


Milorad DJOKIC (Serb)16,129


Other Croat Candidates13,516


Stjepan KLJUIC (Croat)9,413

Election Results Modified: Jun 21, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of Three-person presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Three-person presidency Ivo Miro JOVIC (Croat), Borislav PARAVAC (Serb), Sulejman TIHIC (Bosniak) *
  • Head of Government: Head of Government Adnan TERZIC
  • Assembly: Bosnia and Herzegovina has a bicameral Parliament (Skupstina) consisting of the House of Peoples (Dom Naroda) with 15 seats and the National House of Representatives (Predstavnicki Dom) with 42 seats.

* The presidency consists of three members, one Bosniak, one Croat and one Serb, who rotate every eight months.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Three-person presidency is elected by popular vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the House of Peoples (Dom Naroda) 15 members are elected to serve 4-year terms*. In the National House of Representatives (Predstavnicki Dom) 42 members are elected by proportional representation to serve 4-year terms.**

* The seats are made up of 5 Bosniaks, 5 Croats, and 5 Serbs. Members are elected by the Bosniak/Croat Federation's House of Representatives and the Republika Srpska's National Assembly.

** 28 seats are allocated from the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and 14 seats from the Republika Srpska.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Mirko SAROVIC (Serb)*
    • Party: (SDS) / Serbian Democratic Party
  • Nebojsa RADMANOVIC (Serb)
    • Party: Alliance of Independent Social Democrats (SNSD-Milorad Dodik)
  • Ognjen TADIC (Serb)
    • Party: Serb Radical Party of Republika Srpska
  • Desnica RADIVOJEVIC (Serb)
    • Party: Party of Democratic Action (SDA)
  • Ranko BAKIC (Serb)
    • Party: Party of Social Democratic Center
  • Mirko BANJAC (Serb)
    • Party: Alliance of National Renesans - Mirko Banjac
  • Grahovac MLADEN (Serb)
    • Party: Social Democratic Party of BiH (SDP BiH)
  • Dragutin ILIC (Serb)
    • Party: Socialistic Party of Republika Srpska
  • Milorad DJOKIC (Serb)
    • Party: Democratic National Alliance of RS
  • Other Serb Candidates
    • Party: N/A
  • Sulejman TIHIC (Bosniak)*
    • Party: Party of Democratic Action (SDA)
  • Haris SILAJDŽIC (Bosniak)
    • Party: Party for BiH (SBiH)
  • Alija BEHMEN (Bosniak)
    • Party: Social Democratic Party (SDP)
  • Fikret ABDIC-BABO (Bosniak)
    • Party: Democratic Peoples Union (DNZ)
  • Other Bosniak Candidates
    • Party: N/A
  • Dragan COVIC (Croat)*
    • Coalition: Coalition (Croatian Democratic Union of Bosnia and Herzegovina (HDZ-BiH), Christian democrats)
    • Party: Economic Block HDU for Prosperity
  • Mijo ANIC (Croat)
    • Party: New Croatian Initiative
  • Stjepan KLJUIC (Croat)
    • Party: Republicans / Republikanci
  • Other Croat Candidates
    • Party: N/A

*Mirko SAROVIC (Serb), Dragan COVIC (Croat), and Sulejman TIHIC (Bosniak) were elected to the presidency, having received a plurality of votes in their respective communities.

Note: In results, percentages are relative to total votes in that community.

Last Presidential election:

  • Presidential elections last held: September 12-13, 1998 (Tripartite Presidency).

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 3,825,872 (2002)
  • Registered Voters: 2,342,141 (2002)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 1,910,132 (2002)

·         Is Bosnia and Herzegovina a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Bosnia and Herzegovina ratified CEDAW: Yes, succession (1 September 1993)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 3 (House of Representatives) (following 2000 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 85 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Bosnia and Herzegovina a signatory to CRPD: Yes (29 July 2009)

·         Has Bosnia and Herzegovina ratified CRPD: Yes (12 March 2010)

·         Population with a disability: 573,880 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Bosnia and Herzegovina

With Participation Rates