March 9, 2002 Held


Republic of Zimbabwe

Election for Zimbabwean Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,998,758
Valid Votes:2,826,785
Invalid Votes:48,133

Vote Share by Candidate:

Robert MUGABE1,685,212


Morgan TSVANGIRAI1,258,401


Wilson KUMBILA31,368


Shake MAYA11,906


Paul Siwela11,871

Election Results Modified: May 10, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of Executive President of Zimbabwe

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Executive President Robert Gabriel MUGABE
  • Head of Government: Executive President Robert Gabriel MUGABE
  • Assembly: Zimbabwe has a unicameral National Assembly with 150 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Executive President is elected by popular vote to serve a 6-year term.
  • In the National Assembly, 12 members are appointed and 120 members are elected by popular vote to serve 6-year terms.***

*** In the National Assembly, 120 members are elected by popular vote to serve 6-year terms, 12 are nominated by the president, 8 seats are occupied by provincial governors, and 10 seats are occupied by traditional chiefs.

* Senators are elected on a constituency system, 6 seats are appointed by the president, and 10 seats are reserved to traditional chiefs.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Robert MUGABE
    Party: Zimbabwean African National Union-Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF)
    Party: Movement for Democratic Change (MDC)
  • Wilson KUMBILA
    Party: Zimbabwe African National Union (ZANU)
  • Shake MAYA
    Party: National Alliance for Good Governance (NAGG)
  • Paul Siwela
    Party: N/A


Last Presidential election:

  • Presidential Elections were last held March 16-17, 1996. Robert MUGABE received 92.7% of the vote.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 11,365,366 ( 2002 )
  • Registered Voters: 5,049,815 ( 2000 )
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Zimbabwe

With Participation Rates