Record Modified: Aug 16 2023

Nov. 21, 2011 Held

Marshall Islands

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Election for Nitijela (Marshallese Parliament)


Cast Votes:39,994
Valid Votes:39,994
Invalid Votes:0

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 33 seats in the Parliament (Nitijela)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Jurelang ZEDKAIA
  • Head of Government: President Jurelang ZEDKAIA
  • Assembly: Marshall Islands has a unicameral Parliament (Nitijela) with 33 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by parliament to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Parliament (Nitijela) 33 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Independent(s): Non-Partisans
    Leader: N/A
    Seats won in last election: 0

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 52,541 (2011)
  • Registered Voters: 36,000 (October 2011 est.)

Gender Data:

  • Are the Marshall Islands a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Have the Marshall Islands ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (2 March 2006)
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 1 (following the 2011 elections)
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: N/A
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Are the Marshall Islands a signatory to CRPD: No
  • Have the Marshall Islands ratified CRPD: Yes, accession (17 March 2015)
  • Population with a disability: 7,881 (est.)