April 30, 2011 Held


Republic of Benin

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Beninese National Assembly)


Election Results Modified: Mar 18, 2016

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 83 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Thomas Boni YAYI
  • Head of Government: President Thomas Boni YAYI
  • Assembly: Benin has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 83 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) 83 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Seats are split into 24 multi-member constituencies creating a low district magnitude.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Cauris Forces for an Emerging Benin / Forces Cauris pour un Bénin Emergent (FCBE)*
    • Leader: Boni YAYI
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Alliance: Union Makes the Nation / L'Union fait la Nation (UN)
    • Leader: Adrien HOUNBEDJI
    • Seats won in last election: N/A

* The party was formed after the last election.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 9,056,010 (July 2010 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 3,629,837 (2011)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 4,910,656 (2011)

·         Is Benin a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (11 November 1981)

·         Has Benin ratified CEDAW: Yes (12 March 1992)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 8 (following 2011 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 166 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Benin a signatory to CRPD: Yes (8 February 2008)

·         Has Benin ratified CRPD: Yes (5 July 2012)

·         Population with a disability: 1,358,401 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Benin

With Participation Rates