April 26, 2009 Held


Principality of Andorra

Election for Consell General d'Andorra (Andorran General Council)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:15,293
Valid Votes:14,679
Invalid Votes:614

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Social Democratic Party 14 - 6,610


Reformist Coalition (Coalició Reformista) 11 - 4,747


Andorra for Change (Andorra pei Canvi) 3 - 2,768


Greens of Andorra (Els Verds d'Andorra) - - 466


National Union of Progress (Unió Nacional de Progrés) - - 88

Election Results Modified: May 20, 2016

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 28 seats in the General Council (Consell general)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: French and Spanish Co-Princes Jacques CHIRAC and Bishop Joan Enric VIVES i SICILIA *
  • Head of Government: Executive Council President Albert PINTAT SANTOLARIA
  • Assembly: Andorra has a unicameral General Council (Consell general) with 28 seats.

* French Coprince Jacques CHIRAC is represented by Philippe MASSONI. Spanish Coprince Bishop Joan Enric VIVES i SICILIA is represented by Nemesi MARQUES i OSTE. The Executive Council President is then formally appointed by the coprinces.

Description of electoral system:

  • The French and Spanish Co-Princes is ex officio N/A.
  • Executive Council President is appointed by hereditary state rulers to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the General Council (Consell general), 14 members are elected by popular vote via proportional representation to serve 4-year terms and 14 members are elected by absolute majority vote to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Members in the nominal tier are elected from seven 2-seat districts.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Social Democratic Party (PSD) / Partit Socialdemòcrata (CDA)*
    • Leader: Jaume Bartumeu CASSANY
    • Seats won in this election: 14
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Coalition: Reformist Coalition / Coalició Reformista (CR)
    • Leader: Joan Gabriel ESTANY
    • Seats won in this election: 11
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Coalition: Andorra for Change / Andorra pei Canvi (APC)
    • Leader: Juan Eusebio Nomen CALVET
    • Seats won in this election: 3
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Greens of Andorra / Els Verds d'Andorra (VA)
    • Leader: Isabel Lozano MUNOZ
    • Seats won in this election: 0
    • Seats won in last election: 0

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 85,474 (2009)
  • Registered Voters: 20,298 (2009)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 40,461 (2009 est.)

·         Is Andorra a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Andorra ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (15 January 1997)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 9 (32.14%) (2009)

·         Human Development Index Position: 34 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Andorra a signatory to CRPD: Yes (27 April 2007)

·         Has Andorra ratified CRPD: Yes (11 March 2014)

·         Population with a disability: 12,821 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Andorra

With Participation Rates