Oct. 11, 2007 Held



Election for Gibraltar Parliament


Election Results Modified: Nov 29, 2007

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 17 seats in the House of Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Chief Minister Peter CARUANA
  • Assembly: Gibraltar has a unicameral House of Assembly with 18 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Governor and Commander-in-Chief Sir Robert FULTON.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Chief Minister is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the House of Assembly, 17 members are elected by popular vote to serve 4-year terms and 1 members are appointed for the Speaker to serve 4-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Gibraltar Social Democrats (GSD)
    • Leader: Peter CARUANA
    • Seats won in this election: 10
    • Seats won in last election: 8
  • Coalition: Gibraltar Socialist Labor Party/Gibraltar Liberal Party Coalition (GSLP/GLP)**
    • Leader: Joseph John BOSSANO
    • Seats won in this election: 7
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Progressive Democratic Party (PDP)
    • Leader: Joseph GARCIA
    • Seats won in this election: 0
    • Seats won in last election: 2

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 27,884 (July 2005 est.)
  • Registered Voters: N/A
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Gibraltar

With Participation Rates