Sept. 26, 2006 Held

Cook Islands

Cook Islands

Election for Cook Islands Parliament


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:8,497
Valid Votes:8,497
Invalid Votes:0

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Democratic Party 14 - - 4,391


Cook Islands Party 7 - 3,846


Independent Candidate 2 - 231

Election Results Modified: May 10, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 24 seats in the Parliament

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Jim MARURAI
  • Assembly: Cook Islands has a unicameral Parliament with 24 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Frederick GOODWIN.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary.
  • The Prime Minister is designated by the monarch.**
  • In the Parliament 24 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.***

** The leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually becomes prime minister.

*** Ten MPs are from the main island of Rarotonga and the rest are from the outer islands.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Democratic Party (DEMO)
    • Leader: Terepai Tuamure MAOATE
    • Seats won in this election: 14
    • Seats won in last election: 14
  • Party: Cook Islands Party (CIS)
    • Leader: Geoffrey Arama HENRY
    • Seats won in this election: 7
    • Seats won in last election: 9
  • Party: Independent Candidate
    • Leader: N/A
    • Seats won in this election: 2
    • Seats won in last election: 1

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 21,388 (July 2006 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 9,772 (September 2006 )
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Cook Islands

With Participation Rates