Oct. 23, 2011 Held


Swiss Confederation

Election for Standerat/Conseil des Etats/ Consiglio degli Stati (Swiss Council of States)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,485,403
Valid Votes:2,442,648
Invalid Votes:42,755

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Christian Democratic People's Party 13 - 566,137


Social Democratic Party 11 - 807,713


FDP.The Liberals (FDP.Die Liberalen, PLR.Les Libéraux-Radicaux, PLR.I Liberali, PLD.Ils Liberals) 11 - 830,162


Swiss People's Party 5 - 771,213


Green Party 2 - - 430,426


Green Liberal Party of Switzerland (GLP) (Grünliberale Partei der Schweiz / Parti vert'libéral) 2

Conservative Democratic Party of Switzerland (BDP) (Bürgerlich-Demokratische Partei Schweiz / Parti bourgeois démocratique suisse / Partito Borghese Democratico Svizzero) 1

Independents (Independents) 1

Election Results Modified: Jun 17, 2015

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 46 seats in the Council of States (Standerat/Conseil des Etats/ Consiglio degli Stati)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Micheline CALMY-REY *
  • Head of Government: President Micheline CALMY-REY
  • Assembly: Switzerland has a bicameral Federal Assembly (Bundesversammlung/Assemblée Fédérale/Assemblea Federale) consisting of the Council of States (Standerat/Conseil des Etats/ Consiglio degli Stati) with 46 seats and the National Council (Nationalrat/Conseil National/Consiglio Nazionale) with 200 seats.

* The Federal Presidency rotates among members of the Federal Council, which is the formal chief of state.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is appointed by parliament to serve a 1-year term.
  • In the Council of States (Standerat/Conseil des Etats/ Consiglio degli Stati), 6 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 20 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms*. In the National Council (Nationalrat/Conseil National/Consiglio Nazionale), 195 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 5 members are elected by a plurality system to serve 4-year terms.**

* Single-member districts correspond to half-cantons. The electoral system is first-past-the-post. Two-seat districts correspond to full cantons. The electoral system is MNTV.

** Seats are apportioned to each canton or half-canton in proportion to its population. Voters have the option of panachage. In single-member districts, this is effectively a first-past-the-post system.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 7,912,398 (2011)
  • Registered Voters: 5,120,379 (2011)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 4,011,746 (2011)

·         Is Switzerland a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (23 January 1987)

·         Has Switzerland ratified CEDAW: Yes (27 March 1997)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 57 (National Council); 9 (Council of States) following the 2011 elections

·         Human Development Index Position: 3 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Switzerland a signatory to CRPD: No

·         Has Switzerland ratified CRPD: Yes, accession (15 April 2014)

·         Population with a disability: 1,186,859 (est.)

Election Modified: Aug 02, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Switzerland

With Participation Rates