390,231 7

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Belizean House of Representatives Lower House
Belizean Senate Upper House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Dean BARROW **
  • Assembly: Belize has a bicameral National Assembly consisting of the Senate with 13 seats and the House of Representatives with 31 seats.

* Queen ELIZABETH II is represented by Governor General Sir Colville YOUNG, Sr.

** The position of the governor general is appointed by the monarch.The governor general appoints the prime minister after legislative elections, typically selecting the leader of the majority party for the position.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary N/A.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Senate 13 members are appointed by the governor-general to serve 5-year terms. In the House of Representatives 31 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Belizean House of Representatives 1998-08-27 84,876 94,173 90.13%
Belizean House of Representatives 2003-03-05 100,340 126,261 79.47%
Belizean House of Representatives 2008-02-07 116,943 156,993 74.49%
Belizean House of Representatives 2012-03-07 130,258 178,054 73.16%
Belizean House of Representatives 2015-11-04 142,900 196,587 72.69%
Referendum 2019-05-08 96,417 148,500 64.93%
Belizean House of Representatives 2020-11-11 - - -

Voter Turnout