May 7, 2012 Confirmed


Commonwealth of the Bahamas

Election for Bahaman Senate

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 41 seats in the House of Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Hubert A. INGRAHAM
  • Assembly: Bahamas has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 16 seats and the House of Assembly with 41 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Governor General Sir Arthur A. FOULKES since 14 April 2010.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Senate 16 members are appointed by the governor-general to serve 5-year terms. In the House of Assembly 41 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 316,182 (July 2012 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 172,128 (March 2012 )